Change Location & Date

APRM forum elects its new Chairperson H.E Idriss Deby Itno of the Republic of Chad


Car description


APR Forum Elects its New Chairperson H.E Idriss Deby Itno of the Republic of Chad


Addis Ababa, Ethiopia- The 27th APR Forum of Heads of State and Government Participating in the African Peer Review Mechanism, was held on 27th January 2018, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The APR Forum was chaired by H.E. Uhuru Kenyatta of the Republic of Kenya, who commended APRM Member States for their continuous support through contributions and willingness to partake in the APRM processes. The Chairperson also commended the significant progress made by the APRM since the 26th APR Forum, towards the implementation of Expended Mandate and the integration of the APRM into the AU as a specialised agency.

The Chairperson further highlighted the urgent need to expedite the integration of the APRM to the AU, by incorporating the Statute. Among the key highlights at the APR Forum were: The Accession of The Gambia as the 37th Member Country, the first-generation Peer Review of the Republic of Sudan Country Review Report and second-generation Peer Review of the Republic of Uganda Country Review Report.

During the Forum, H.E. President Ernest Bai Koroma of the Republic of Sierra Leone presented the Third Progress Report of the Republic of Sierra Leone which, highlighted progress made in education, agriculture, infrastructure since 2012.

The 27th APR Forum elected H.E. President Idriss Déby Itno of the Republic of Chad as the new chairperson of the APR Forum and appointed Honourable Brigitte Mabandla and Professor Ibrahim Gambari as Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the APR Panel of Eminent Persons.

The Forum also congratulated Prof Mahmoud Khayal, for his distinguished leadership as chairperson.

In his acceptance statement, the incoming Chairperson of the Forum noted the growing confidence of African leaders in the APRM and committed to supporting the work of the mechanism by building on the significant revitalisation achievements over the last two years, under the leadership of H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The year of 2018 officially marks the 15th anniversary milestone of the APRM.

Default Equipment

  • News
  • Press Releases
  • Phone:

  • Email:

  • Pick Up:



    12:00 AM

  • Drop Off:



    12:00 AM

Change Location & Date